The Lexington Education Advancement Foundation (L.E.A.F.) was created to support efforts which compliment, enhance, and enrich educational programs and opportunities in Lexington Community Unit # 7.


The primary function of the foundation is to raise funds that will be directed to pay for grants that are requested by the teachers for projects/materials that would not be otherwise funded.


Overseeing the foundation are seven members of the Board of Directors. Members live within the Lexington school boundaries who volunteer their time to ensure the ongoing success and the financial security of the foundation. Two representatives of the district faculty attend as ex-officio members to assist the board.

An annual meeting of the foundation is held each August and is open to the public. A notice of the meeting is listed in the Lexingtonian.


All donations made to the foundation are tax deductible. A receipt will be sent to any person, business, trust, etc. that makes a donation.

Donations are used to pay for grants that have been approved by the board of directors. Thirty-three percent (33%) of all donations are directed to an endowment fund. The endowment fund cannot be used for day-to-day operations or grant payments. The endowment fund ensures the long-term viability of the foundation.

Requests for donations are sent each fall.


Written grant requests are completed by teachers. Requests include the program/materials, number of students who will benefit from the grant, and cost of the program/materials. The board reviews grants twice a year.

Since the spring of 2006, L.E.A.F. has awarded grants to the Lexington School District in excess of $30,000.00! The foundations ability to award grants is based on the generosity of the citizens of Lexington.

Lexington Legends:

The Lexington Education Advancement Foundation has recognized individuals that have contributed to the excellence of the Lexington School District over the years. Recipients include administrators, teachers, faculty members, school board members, and community members. 

Patriot Award Recipients

Dorothy Cheever

Michael Hawkins

Parker Kemp

Shirley Kramer

Ollie & Dorothy Myers

Linda Eggenberger

Beryl Kauth

Ken McNeely

Joe Underwood

John Coffey

Ivy Trimmer

Bernard Worth

Don Eiker

Ray Richard

Russell Tallon


Beginning in 2006, the foundation began awarding a one-time $1,000.00 scholarship to the Salutatorian/Valedictorian of the graduating class. Past recipients are:

        Tessa Miller - 2006

        Cody Leigh - 2007

        Ara Holiday - 2008

        Allison Brown - 2009

Grant Pestka - 2010

Emily Jacobs - 2011

Amanda Pestka - 2012

- 2013

- 2014

Connor Pestka - 2015

Alexis Bury - 2016

Thomas Higgins - 2017

Faith Patton and Sydney Kunkel - 2018

Tessa Higgins - 2019